NFL Hall of Fame Week 2019: From Broncos vs. Falcons to the enshrinement ceremony

NFL: Pro Football Hall of Fame Game-Atlanta Falcons vs Denver Broncos Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Hall of Fame week is over. The Broncos won the Hall of Fame Game and eight new members entered the hallowed halls of Canton.

Welcome to August! The Denver Broncos opened the preseason with a 14-10 victory over the Atlanta Falcons in this year’s Hall of Fame Game on Thursday night. Then on Saturday evening eight new members entered the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

It was a rather quiet start to the NFL preseason with no real stars taking the field for either team. Denver opened the scoring with Khalfani Muhammad rushing for a touchdown in the first quarter, only to enter halftime tied at seven. Atlanta took a 10-7 lead in the third quarter, but Broncos quarterback Brett Rypien connected with receiver Juwann Winfree on a 15-yard touchdown pass for the go-ahead score with less than 90 seconds left in the game.

With the Hall of Fame Game complete, it’s now time to celebrate this year’s Hall of Fame class. This year’s enshrinees were: cornerback Champ Bailey (Washington 1999-2003, Denver 2004-2013); Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen (1984-2019); Gil Brandt (Cowboys executive, 1960-1988); tight end Tony Gonzalez (Chiefs 1997-2008, Falcons 2009-2013); cornerback Ty Law (Patriots 1995-2004, Jets 2005/2008, Chiefs 2006-2007, Broncos 2009); center Kevin Mawae (Seahawks 1994-1997, Jets 1998-2005, Titans 2006-2009); safety Ed Reed (Ravens 2002-2012, Texans 2013, Jets 2013); and safety Johnny Robinson (Texans/Chiefs 1960-1971). ESPN and NFL Network will televise the ceremony at 7 p.m. ET.